One view, Two cameras, Three kids

War Memorial


MtSoledad009Worked on an interesting story about war memorials that display religious symbols on Federal land. I visited Mt Soledad here in San Diego and went up to the Mojave Desert to a see a cross on some boulders that was in a remote location. There have been lawsuits to take these symbols down because of Separation of Church and State issues, which has inflamed many folks who feel that it honors those who have died serving our country. It’s a tough issue for me, I strongly believe in Separation of Church and State but I also scoff at the people who are offended by seeing such displays. Come on, lighten up. There is plenty of room for us to express our views. For me it’s more about remembrance and history than about religion. What do you all think?

2 responses

  1. terry

    I definitely agree. Thank you for taking the time to post the interesting photos and great descriptions.

    June 24, 2009 at 11:47 am

  2. JT

    I think I know of that “remote location” in the East Mojave Preserve. I saw a cross standing on large rock, surrounded by Joshua Trees. The cross had not been removed but encased in a box to conceal it’s image. Someone subsequently drew a cross on the box. I was able to get one shot with my 135mm lens but I was in an entomology class and had to stick with identifying insects. As for the issue at hand: Let the cross stand. Think of it as a symbol of our liberties here in the States; federal or private land.

    Great work, btw.

    July 21, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Leave a Reply

